BLMK Clinical Commissioning Group

NHS Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes Clinical Commissioning Group (BLMK CCG) was formed on 1 April 2021 following the merger of Bedfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group (BCCG), Luton Clinical Commissioning Group (LCCG) and Milton Keynes Clinical Commissioning Group (MKCCG). They are responsible for planning and buying (or ‘commissioning’) NHS-funded healthcare for the almost 1 million people living in and around Bedford, Luton and Milton Keynes (BLMK) – which includes Milton Keynes University Hospital.

The creation of the single CCG provides a real opportunity to meet the wider healthcare needs of our communities, utilising the greater joint working across health and social care that has happened in response to the Covid pandemic. Despite becoming one commissioning group, BLMK CCG retains a local focus and strong clinical voice in each place and are committed to this as we look forward towards a more integrated future across our region.

At MKUH, the BMLK CCG is responsible for commissioning the following services:

  • Ambulance services, A&E & integrated urgent care (NHS 111 and GP out of hours)
  • Non-urgent hospital care
  • Community health services including community nursing, speech and language therapy services and wheelchair services
  • Rehabilitation services
  • NHS continuing healthcare
  • Maternity and new-born services (excluding new-born intensive care)
  • Children’s healthcare services (mental and physical health)
  • Services for people with learning disabilities
  • Mental health services
  • Primary medical services (co-commissioned with NHS England)

To find out more about the role of the BLMK CCG and some of the work that they are doing to support patient care in our area, visit their website using the button below.

Find out more