Membership and Volunteers
The Data Protect Act 2018 and The General Data Protection Regulations became law on 25 May 2018. From this date, we now need your consent to be able to hold your personal information regarding membership.
Personal data is information that can be used to identify you and other details about you. This may include your:
- date of birth
- contact details e.g. phone number or email address
This information is collected for the purposes of your membership.
We may ask you for optional sensitive personal data. This would be about your gender, ethnicity or disability. This is so we can make sure we are reaching people who represent the whole Milton Keynes community. Such information may help us when we are looking at service re-design and improvements. We will hold your data for the purpose of sending you information such as the member’s newsletter and about ways you can get involved with services or plans for the future. You have no obligations as a member, but there are lots of ways to be involved.
- we won’t share your data with anyone else
- we have a secure electronic database in which we store information about you
- the database can only be accessed by MKUH membership staff
After recording your information in our database, we will keep any paper copies for 12 months. You can opt out at any time by replying ‘unsubscribe’ to any post or email communications or by phoning 01908 996 235.
We follow the NHS Employers Guidelines for recruitment of volunteers.
We collect and store the following:
- full name
- contact information
- enquiry source
- volunteer role preferences
- recruitment documents as per NHS Employers Recruitment Guidelines
This information is stored in both hard copy and electronic. All recruitment information is stored in lockable offices which are only accessible by the Voluntary Services Department.
We will contact volunteers by telephone, email or letter. We will use your information to manage our volunteer vacancies and to help identify improvements to our service.
Information may be shared with other departments within the Trust, should it be required to enable you to carry out your volunteering role. Your information may also share it with other third party volunteer organisations that are on site, should you express an interest in joining them as a volunteer.
After seven years, all recruitment information is deleted and destroyed. A record of destroyed information is kept indefinitely.
Last Modified: 11:49am 01/10/2018